Friday, January 21, 2011

Luncheon honors home town heroes

Luncheon honors home town heroes - New community service program to be announced

The Nacogdoches County Chamber will recognize the heroics of non-profit organizations during the Chamber’s Fourth Friday Luncheon, presented by Tipton Ford, Inc.

Brett Maisel (pictured left), training sergeant for the City Police Dept. will speak on the impact “Home Town Heroes” make in the community.

The luncheon is noon to 1 p.m., Friday, Jan. 28 at Hotel Fredonia. Immediately following the luncheon, time is set from 1 to 2 p.m. for anyone to visit one-on-one with the non-profit representatives.

Also during the program, Main Street Manager Sarah O’Brien will give an overview of the city’s new community service program.

"We are excited to launch the Cities of Service program in Nacogdoches, also known as the Texas Communities of Service through the One Star Foundation,” O’Brien said. “We will begin assessing our needs so we can establish a service plan that will accomplish our goals and realize the community’s needs.”

According to O’Brien the first step is to host a non-profit summit in February. She will announce the summit date at the chamber luncheon.

“During this meeting Randi Cooper, SFASU & One Star Foundation, and myself will gather much needed information from our local non-profits and agencies about what their needs are, whether it be financial, volunteers, time, etc. so that we can successfully address those needs in our service plan,” O’Brien said.

Nacogdoches Mayor Roger Van Horn signed the declaration of service during the fall of 2010. View the declaration at:

The luncheon serves as the Chamber’s monthly membership meeting, and all from the community are invited to attend. Reservations are required by Jan. 27, and lunch is $16 at the door. A safe “pay online” option is available at, or contact the chamber to register, 936-560-5533.

All attending may enter the $50 drawing, and all chamber members are entered in a $250 drawing, but you must be present to win. Both drawings sponsored by First Bank & Trust East Texas.

Event Gold sponsors are Axley & Rode, LLP, and Norbord Texas LP.


About Brett Maisel

Brett Maisel has been a peace officer in this community for over 28 years. He is a graduate of Stephen F. Austin State University, a Certified Public Manager and a graduate of the FBI National Academy in Quantico, Virginia. He currently serves as the training sergeant, the crisis negotiations team leader and volunteer chaplain for the Nacogdoches Police Department. Brett is married to his college sweetheart Donna, the Executive Director of Economic Development in Marshall, Texas. The Maisels have two grown, married sons and a 2-month-old granddaughter Rylan.

About Cities of Service
Founded in New York City on September 10, 2010, the Cities of Service coalition and its member cities are responding to the Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act’s historic call to action by finding new and innovative ways to harness the power of volunteers to help solve pressing local challenges. The coalition aims to accelerate the service movement at the most local level, connecting local needs to willing volunteers in innovative and impacting ways, thus creating a new chapter in America’s longstanding history with service.

Today the coalition includes more than 100 mayors who represent more than 49 million Americans. Like the original seventeen mayors, each coalition member has made a commitment to advance service strategies in their city by crafting a high-impact service plan and to work with other mayors around the country.

Friday, January 07, 2011

Texas Chamber of Commerce Execs names directors

Austin, TX January 2011---The Texas Chamber of Commerce Executives (TCCE) has elected a new slate of Directors to serve and represent the interests of chamber professionals in Texas.

Bruce R. Partain, President/CEO of the Nacogdoches County Chamber, is among the volunteers who will serve as an officer of the oldest state association for Chamber of Commerce executives. Partain served TCCE as Vice Chair of Governmental Affairs in 2010, and will serve as Vice Chair of Technology and Communications in 2011.

TCCE is the premier organization for chamber of commerce professionals in the State of Texas that enhances professional growth of its members while developing the skills needed to improve the business climate in Texas.

New to the board and elected to serve a three year term are:

Ray Hernandez, Kyle Chamber of Commerce, Laura Mitchell, Lake Travis
Andy Dill, Community Chamber of East Montgomery County, and Mike Coston, Kilgore Chamber of Commerce

Re-elected to the Board to serve an additional three year term are:
Sam Cartwright, Dumas Chamber of Commerce
Missy Malecheck, West Chambers County Chamber of Commerce
Officers of the organization for 2011 and the communities they represent are as follows:

Chairman: Royce Hickman, Bryan-College Station
Past-Chair: Bruce Hillegeist, Tomball
Chair-Elect: Matt McCormick, Lewisville
Secretary/Treasurer: Beth Journeay, Angleton

Serving as Vice-Chairs in 2011 are:
Chris Wallace, Greater Irving-Las Colinas
Bruce Partain, Nacogdoches County
Eddie McBride, Lubbock
Kelly Hall, Longview Partnership
RaDonna Hessel, Grapevine

Directors - Retiring December 31, 2011:
Steve Ahlenius, McAllen
Rob Cunningham Midland
Jeff Sandford, Texarkana
Gina Spagnola, Galveston
Emily Waite, Wichita Falls
Cindy Harreld, Clear Lake Area

Directors - Retiring December 31, 2012:
Shelby Concotelli, Seminole
Tony Felker, Frisco
Cammy Jackson, DeSoto
Jim Rich, Beaumont
Sherry Trainer, Pasadena
Debra Wakeland, Waxahachie

The elected Board, representing more than 250 Texas chambers of commerce will work throughout 2011, assisting Texas chambers in providing even better services to the business communities that they serve.

For more information, contact Phyllis Snodgrass, Texas Chamber of Commerce Executives at
(512) 637-7711 or online at .

Labels: ,